Scroll back to the top

Final Exam Conflict

I have three finals scheduled for the same day! How do I get them rescheduled?

If you have three or more final exams scheduled for the same day, you may request that your instructors reschedule one so that you have no more than two in one day. However, keep in mind that your instructors are not obligated to grant your request. According to Student Rule 8.4:

In those instances where a student is scheduled for three final examinations in one day, the student may request to reschedule one of the exams. The procedure and associated form for this request are available at the Undergraduate Studies web site. The student must initiate the request(s) no later than ten workdays before the first day of TAMU final exams. The same procedure, form and deadline applies to Blinn TEAM students and students enrolled in other co-enrollment programs where final examinations between institutions conflict.

What is the process for requesting rescheduling?

If you wish to request that your instructors reschedule a final exam, this form (Rule 8: Rescheduling a Final Exam) will help.

  1. Complete the form identifying the three courses and scheduled exams that occur on one day.
  2. Contact the dean’s delegate in your dean's office to have your schedule validated and to get the form signed.
  3. Send a copy of the signed form to your instructors and work with them to reschedule one of the exams.
  4. If you are unable to reach consensus with your instructors, contact the dean's delegate in your dean’s office for assistance.

What if I need to reschedule for another reason besides having three or more finals in one day?

Rescheduling for any reason other than a three-in-one day conflict must to be worked out with your instructor.

What if I need to reschedule exams during the semester?

Student Rule 8.4 pertains only to final exam conflicts. If you have conflicts during the semester, you can speak to your instructors, but your best strategy is to plan your study time well. You can get help with that from an academic coach at the Academic Success Center.

How do I find the dean's delegate for my dean's office?

To find the dean's delegate for your dean's office, ask your academic advisor. If you know your college, use the chart below.

Deans' Delegates 2019-20  Email Location/Bldg Room Phone Mail Stop
           
COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE AND            
LIFE SCIENCES          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Mary Bryk mary.bryk@ag.tamu.edu Ag&LifeSci Bldg 515 979-847-6180 2402
Delegate: Ms. Kelly Essler essler@tamu.edu Ag&LifeSci Bldg 515 979-847-6180 2402
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Mary Bryk mary.bryk@tamu.edu Ag&LifeSci Bldg 515 979-847-6180 2402
           
COLLEGE OF ARCHITECTURE          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Leslie Feigenbaum leslief@tamu.edu Langford Arch. Center 202 979-845-7886 3137
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dawn Jourdan  dawnjourdan@arch.tamu.edu Langford Arch. Center 202 979-847-9351 3137
           
MAYS BUSINESS SCHOOL          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Linda M. Windle lwindle@tamu.edu Wehner Bldg 238 979-862-3872 4113
Delegate: Peter K. Drysdale drysdale@tamu.edu Wehner Bldg 238 979-862-3862 4113
Delegate: Dr. Annie McGowan AMcGowan@mays.tamu.edu Wehner Bldg 440 979-845-4711 4113
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Shannon Deer sdeer@mays.tamu.edu Wehner Bldg 440 979-845-4714 4113
Delegate: Dr. Arvind Mahajan amahajan@mays.tamu.edu Wehner Bldg 385A 979-845-4876 4113
Delegate: Dr. R. Duane Ireland direland@mays.tamu.edu Wehner Bldg 440 979-845-4711 4113
           
COLLEGE OF DENTISTRY          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Leigh Ann Wyatt Lwyatt@tamhsc.edu 3302 Gaston Ave.  n/a 214-828-8340 n/a
    Dallas, Texas      
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Lisa Harper-Mallonee LHarperMallonee@tamhsc.edu 3302 Gaston Ave.  n/a 214-828-8914 n/a
    Dallas, Texas      
           
COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND           
HUMAN DEVELOPMENT          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Chris Cherry chrischerry@tamu.edu Heaton Bldg 112B 979-458-3560 4222
Delegate: Kristy Anderson kanderson@tamu.edu Heaton Bldg 112A 979-458-3560 4222
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Beverly Irby beverly.irby@tamu.edu Harrington Tower 802D 979-845-5311 4226
Delegate: Melanie Robideau mrobideau@tamu.edu Harrington Tower 802 979-845-5311 4222
           
COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Angie Hill Price price@tamu.edu ZACH 530 862-3243 3127
Delegate: Bonnie Bustos-Rios bbrios@tamu.edu ZACH 481 458-9263 3127
Delegate: Mark Weichold m-weichold@tamu.edu ZACH 530 862-8869 3127
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Hogan Harry hhogan@tamu.edu ZACH 530 845-1538 3127
Delegate: Tandilyn Morrel tmorrel@tamu.edu ZACH 452 845-6883 3127
Delegate: Mark Weichold m-weichold@tamu.edu ZACH 530 862-8869 3127
           
COLLEGE OF GEOSCIENCES          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Christian Brannstrom cbrannst@geos.tamu.edu Eller O&M 202 979-845-3651 3147
    CSA 202B    
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Christian Brannstrom cbrannst@geos.tamu.edu Eller O&M 202 979-845-3651 3147
    CSA 202B    
           
COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS           
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Steven M. Oberhelman  s-oberhelman@tamu.edu Coke Bldg 202 979-845-5143 4223
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Maria C. Escobar-Lemmon m_escobar@tamu.edu Coke Bldg 304 979-845-8541 4223
           
COLLEGE OF NURSING           
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Sharon Dormire sdormire@tamu.edu HSC Campus/HPEB 3008 979-436-0188 1359
Delegate: Kathryn McCallum kathryn.mccallum@tamu.edu HSC Campus/HPEB 3016 979-436-0121 1359
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Debra Matthews dmatthews@tamhsc.edu HSC Campus/HPEB 3008 979-436-0131 1359
Delegate: Kathryn McCallum kmccallum@tamhsc.edu HSC Campus/HPEB 3016 979-436-0121 1359
           
SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH           
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Donald J. Curtis Jr.  dcurtis@tamu.edu SPH Admin Bldg 163D 979-436-9403 1266
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Jennifer Griffith jennifer.griffith@tamu.edu SPH Admin Bldg 368D 979-436-9426 1266
Delegate: Rick Danko danko@tamu.edu HSC Round Rock 211D 512-341-4927 1266
           
COLLEGE OF SCIENCE          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Lucas Macri lmacri@tamu.edu Blocker Bldg 514 979-845-7362 4242
Delegate: Yvette Hester hester@science.tamu.edu Blocker Bldg 514 979-845-7362 3368
Delegate: Sara Thigpin sara@science.tamu.edu Blocker Bldg 514 979-845-7362 3257
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Mark Zoran  zoran@science.tamu.edu Blocker Bldg 517 979-458-8000 3257
Delegate: Kristy Delvo-Vela kristy@science.tamu.edu Blocker Bldg 514 979-458-1503 3257
Delegate: Sara Thigpin sara@science.tamu.edu Blocker Bldg 514 979-845-7362 3257
           
COLLEGE OF VETERINARY MEDICINE          
AND BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Elizabeth Crouch  ecrouch@cvm.tamu.edu Vet. Med. Bldg 2  123 979-845-4941 4465
Delegate: Henry Huebner hhuebner@cvm.tamu.edu Vet. Med. Bldg 2  123 979-845-4941 4465
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Robert Burghardt rburghardt@cvm.tamu.edu Vet. Med. Bldg 1 317W 979-845-5092 4461
Delegate: Dr. David Kessler dkessler@cvm.tamu.edu Vet. Med. Bldg 1 317P 979-845-6161 4461
           
TRANSITION ACADEMIC PROGRAMS           
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Arthur Watson acwatson@tamu.edu Hotard Hall 3rd Floor 979-845-5916 4247
Delegate: Dr. Russ Graves r-graves@tamu.edu Hotard Hall 3rd Floor 979-845-5916 4247
Delegate: Dr. Karl Mooney kpmooney50@tamu.edu Hotard Hall 3rd Floor 979-845-5916 4247
           
LAUNCH          
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Jon Kotinek (Honors) jkotinek@tamu.edu Henderson Hall 222 979-845-6333 4233
Delegate: Laura Wimberley (Learning Communities)  lwimberley@tamu.edu Henderson Hall 207 979-862-1556 4233
Delegate: Sarah Misemer (Undergraduate Research) smisemer@tamu.edu Henderson Hall 212 979-845-0309 4233
           
TAMU-GALVESTON           
Undergraduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Donna C. Lang langd@tamug.edu GALVESTON; Bldg 3034 - suite 409B n/a 409-740-4419 n/a
           
Graduate Dean's Delegate          
Delegate: Dr. Antonietta Quigg quigga@tamug.edu GALVESTON; Bldg 3034 - suite 409B n/a 409-740-4990 n/a

 

 





What if I need more help or information?

If you have questions about filling in the form, contact Amanda Booth, Program Coordinator for Undergraduate Studies. if you need additional help, contact the Undergraduate Studies Ombuds, Dr. Valerie Balester, at v-balester@tamu.edu.