Scroll back to the top

ASC Staff Member Receives Prestigious Service Award

Published on 6/9/2022 11:15:15 AM
By Sydnie Harrell, Office of Undergraduate Studies at Texas A&M University

On March 30, 2022, Academic Success Center (ASC) Senior Associate Director of STEM Resources and Texas Success Initiative (TSI) Yvette Hester was named a recipient of the President’s Meritorious Service Award (PMSA) for her dedication and service at Texas A&M University.

Dr. Hester stands with her cousin and daughter while holding her commemorative plaque.
Dr. Hester (middle) stands with her cousin Freddie Gayle Fuller (left) and her oldest daughter Leah Murski (right) after receiving the 2022 President’s Meritorious Service Award.
“The President’s Meritorious Service Awards recognize and reward staff for their commendable service to our great university,” Texas A&M President M. Katherine Banks said in the official award announcement. “Recipients of this highly prestigious award have demonstrated their commitment to the Aggie core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect, and selfless service.”
Hester came to Texas A&M in 1986 after graduating from the University of Houston with a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics. At Texas A&M, she earned a Master of Science in Applied Mathematics in 1989 and a Ph.D. in Educational Statistics and Psychometrics in 2000. After earning her Ph.D., Hester moved to Virginia where she was the Dean of Instruction at Germanna Community College.
“In 2007, I came back to Texas A&M to teach for the Department of Mathematics and became Assistant Head for Math in 2012. In 2019, I was promoted to Assistant Dean for the College of Science where I served for three years.”
As the Assistant Dean for the College of Science, Hester established two programs that the college still uses today. In December 2019, she moved to the ASC as Associate Director for STEM, and in October 2021, she became the Senior Associate Director for TSI and STEM. Hester’s commitment to the ASC earned her a nomination for the service award.
“Overall, Yvette has brought in some fresh new approaches to the program, including winning a state grant directed toward the TSI program,” ASC Program Coordinator of TSI Sharon Haigler said. “The Peer Mentor program and the computer lab are direct results of that grant that she so masterfully wrote and executed.”
Hester and the rest of the 2022 President’s Meritorious Service Awards winners were recognized and celebrated at an award ceremony on April 25. Each individual recipient received a $1000 award, a commemorative plaque and a lapel pin.
“I was so very honored to be awarded the PMSA. I would like to acknowledge the support and encouragement I have received from Dr. Ann Kenimer and Dr. Valerie Balester since coming to the Academic Success Center,” Hester said. “It makes all the difference.”


Media contact: Anna Transue,