University Studies Degree


The University Studies degree is an innovative course of study that provides Texas A&M University students with the flexibility to combine several areas of interest into an individual degree plan. A US degree plan includes a concentration in one area of study of at least 21 hours, combined with two minors, each of which may require at least 15 hours. One minor must be in an academic department outside the college of the concentration.

For example, a student with a concentration in Leadership Studies from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences would take at least 21 hours in that concentration and also might minor in Agricultural Communication (15 hours in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences) and in English (15 hours in the Department of English, College of Liberal Arts).  

The following colleges offer University Studies concentrations: A list of all minors available at Texas A&M University and Texas A&M University Galveston can be found at the web page listed here. Once students are admitted to a University Studies degree plan, they are considered majors in the college of their concentration and should consult with an advisor in that college. College advisors are listed below.
 
University Studies Advisors by Concentrations (updated 9-18-12)
Leadership Studies
(Agriculture & Life Sciences)
Jonathan Howell
(jhowell@tamu.edu)
979-458-0390  Website
Enviromental Business
(Agriculture & Life Sciences)
Sam Murdock
(
mudock@tamu.edu)
979-845-2388 Website
Global Arts, Planning, Design and Construction
(Architecture)
Janet Richards
(jrichards@arch.tamu.edu)
979-845-3941 Website
Business
(Mays Business School)
Ashley Corn
acorn@tamu.edu
979-862-3860 Website
Dance & Sports Leadership
(Education & Human Development)
Russell Ramirez
(rramirez@hlkn.tamu.edu)
979-862-3001 Website
Sports Conditioning
(Education & Human Development)
Christina Escamilla
(cescamil@hlkn.tamu.edu)
979-845-4530 Website
Child Professional Services
(Education and Human Development;
Educational Psychology)
Christy Porter
(csporter@tamu.edu)
979-845-1874 Website
Geography
(Geosciences)
Sarah Bednarz
(s-bednarz@geos.tamu.edu)
979-845-3651 Website
Race, Gender and Ethnicity
(Liberal Arts)
Trevor Nieveen
(tnieveen@tamu.edu)
979-845-5143 Website
Mathematics for Teaching
(Science)
Vincent Schielack
(vinces@math.tamu.edu)

 
979-845-7554 Website
Mathematics for Pre-Professional Students
(Science)
Michael Stecher, (mike.stecher@math.tamu.edu)
 
979-862-4306 Website
Science for Secondary Teaching
(Science)
Jennifer Whitfield
(jwhitfld@tamu.edu)
979-845-7362 Website