Scroll back to the top

Final Exam Conflict

I have three finals scheduled for the same day! How do I get them rescheduled?

If you have three or more final exams scheduled for the same day, you may request that your instructors reschedule one so that you have no more than two in one day. However, keep in mind that your instructors are not obligated to grant your request. According to Student Rule 8.4:

In those instances where a student is scheduled for three final examinations in one day, the student may request to reschedule one of the exams. The procedure and associated form for this request are available at the Undergraduate Studies web site. The student must initiate the request(s) no later than ten workdays before the first day of TAMU final exams. The same procedure, form and deadline applies to Blinn TEAM students and students enrolled in other co-enrollment programs where final examinations between institutions conflict.

What is the process for requesting rescheduling?

If you wish to request that your instructors reschedule a final exam, this form (Rule 8: Rescheduling a Final Exam) will help.

  1. Complete the form identifying the three courses and scheduled exams that occur on one day.
  2. Contact the dean’s delegate in your dean's office to have your schedule validated and to get the form signed.
  3. Send a copy of the signed form to your instructors and work with them to reschedule one of the exams.
  4. If you are unable to reach consensus with your instructors, contact the dean's delegate in your dean’s office for assistance.

What if I need to reschedule for another reason besides having three or more finals in one day?

Rescheduling for any reason other than a three-in-one day conflict must to be worked out with your instructor.

What if I need to reschedule exams during the semester?

Student Rule 8.4 pertains only to final exam conflicts. If you have conflicts during the semester, you can speak to your instructors, but your best strategy is to plan your study time well. You can get help with that from an academic coach at the Academic Success Center.

How do I find the dean's delegate for my dean's office?

To find the dean's delegate for your dean's office, ask your academic advisor. If you know your college, use the chart below.

College Undergraduate Delegate Email Location/Bldg   Room Phone
Agriculture & Life Sciences Kelly Essler essler@tamu.edu AG & Life Sciences Bldg.   515 979-847-6180
Architecture Leslie Feigenbaum leslief@tamu.edu Langford Arch. Center   202 979-845-7886
Mays Business School Linda M. Windle lwindle@tamu.edu Wehner Bldg.   238 979-862-3872
  Peter Drysdale drysdale@tamu.edu Wehner Bldg.   238 979-862-3862
   Annie McGowan AMcGowan@mays.tamu.edu Wehner Bldg.   240 979-845-4711
Dentistry Leigh Ann Wyatt Lwyatt@tamhsc.edu 3302 Gaston Ave., Dallas     214-828-8340
Education & Human Development Chris Cherry chrischerry@tamu.edu Heaton Bldg.   112B 979-458-3560
  Kristy Anderson kanderson@tamu.edu Heaton Bldg.   112A 979-458-3560
Engineering N. K. Anand nkanand@tamu.edu 7608 Eastmark Dr.   240 979-845-6170
  Margaret Banks k-banks@tamu.edu 7608 Eastmark Dr.   240 979-845-1306
  Hogan Harry
enjeti@tamu.eduhhogan@tamu.edu
Zachary Bldg.   452 979-845-1538
  John Hurtado jehurtado@tamu.edu Zachary Bldg.   403 979-862-3946
  Mark Weichold m-weichold@tamu.edu Zachary Bldg.   403 979-862-8869
Geosciences Christian Brannstrom cbrannst@geog.tamu.edu Eller O&M Bldg.   202 979-845-3651
Liberal Arts Steven Oberhelman s-oberhelman@tamu.edu Coke Bldg.   202 979-845-5143
Nursing Debra Matthews dmatthews@tamhsc.edu HSC Campus/HPEB   3008 979-436-0131
  Kathryn McCallum kmccallum@tamhsc.edu HSC Campus/HPEB   3016 979-436-0121
Public Health Donald Curtis dcurtis@sph.tamhsc.edu SPH Admin. Bldg.   117/120 979-436-9402
Science Luca Macri lmacri@tamu.edu Blocker Bldg.   514 979-845-7362
  Yvette Hester hester@science.tamu.edu Blocker Bldg.   514 979-845-7362
  Sara Thigpin sara@science.tamu.edu Blocker Bldg.   514 979-845-7362
Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Elizabeth Crouch ecrouch@cvm.tamu.edu Vet. Med. Bldg 2   123 979-845-4941
  Henry Huebner hhuebner@cvm.tamu.edu Vet. Med. Bldg 2   123 979-845-4941
Transition Academic Programs Arthur Watson acwatson@tamu.edu Hotard Hall   3rd floor 979-846-5961
  Russ Graves r-graves@tamu.edu Hotard Hall   3rd floor
979-845-5961
  Karl Mooney kpmooney50@tamu.edu Hotard Hall   3rd floor
979-845-5961






















 

 

What if I need more help or information?

If you have questions about filling in the form, contact Amanda Booth, Program Coordinator for Undergraduate Studies. if you need additional help, contact the Undergraduate Studies Ombuds, Dr. Valerie Balester, at v-balester@tamu.edu.